a new project

In this blog, I hope to keep up with the flood of amazingly good books coming out of Scandinavia and being translated into English. I’m also building a website to track information about authors and their books. It seemed like a project custome-made for a library at a Swedish heritage college. And besides, I want to keep up with all the news, myself.

The header image on this blog was invented by R. S., who kindly made his Terragen images available via a Flickr Creative Commons license. Take a look at the whole set – it’s quite amazing!

8 thoughts on “a new project

  1. Barbara, just discovered this through our mutual online friend at Crime Scraps. Seems a good idea, thanks for adding me to your list. You might like to add Helen Lloyd’s It’s Criminal (http://its-criminal.blogspot.com/) – she is very much into Scandinavian crime fiction, although her blog just recently has focussed on Australian authors in the run up to Melbourne Writers’ Festival at the end of this month.

  2. As a Swede I can only say what a good idea this is. I don’t read enough crime these days, and not Scandinavian crime, but I like the idea.

    We have a Gustav Adolf church in Liverpool, where many Scandinavians bound for Minnesota and elsewhere set out from. We are hoping to survive, but the church in Sweden wants to close us down. Not Swedish enough, is one argument, which some of us find somewhat surprising.

    Good luck with the blog.

  3. Thanks, all – I’m looking forward to adding new publications as they come out. (Hey, it’s a good way to keep on top of them!) And thanks to Kerrie for the suggestion – I don’t know why I didn’t think of it, since I do read Helen’s blog. Loved the coverage of the Crime & Justice Festival. All those books she acquired! (And now I have a new book blog to read – thanks, bookwitch!

    Interesting comment about Njal’s Saga. I interviewed Arnaldur Indridason once and he talked a bit about the Icelandic sagas and how they set the stage for modern Icelandic storytelling. The Icelandic language is much closer to the sagas than other modern Scandinavian languages. And harder for other Scandinavians to understand.

  4. As I understand, Icelandic has made a conscious effort to use old words for new concepts. One result, I have read, is that Icelanders today can read the sagas easily.

    That little bit of deadpan wit was not the only thing that impressed me about Njal’s Saga. I was also surprised by how great a role legal reasoning played in the story. This has no parallel in any early literature that I know of, and it combined with the humor to give the saga a contemporary feel.
    ===================
    Detectives Beyond Borders
    “Because Murder Is More Fun Away From Home”
    http://detectivesbeyondborders.blogspot.com/

  5. I have just returned from a two-week holiday (during which I read 3 Scandinavian novels 😉 — as well as 5 from elsewhere, not as many as usual because I was touring round) to discover that you have started this site. I’m so pleased: as a reader, and in particular since discovering the excellent Euro Crime website and blog, I have read many superb novels from this region. Now I can look forward to reading about more of them.

    One suggestion for your blogroll is that Euro Crime divides up its archive into geographical regions, so you could provide a direct link to the Scandinavian books and reviews listed there (see Euro Crime blog sidebar, or the website itself).

  6. Thanks, Maxine – it doesn’t seem as if Grazr will let me add the link, though; perhaps it’s looking for an RSS feed and not finding it. The EuroCrime site is absolutely indispensable!

    I’m thinking of creating a resource page, though – so I can link sites as well as list published articles. In which case, it will definitely be there.

    Sounds like a lovely holiday! Eight books in two weeks sounds heavenly.

  7. PS – Duh! Just realized I can certainly link to the Scandinavian section of EuroCrime on this blog. It’s only on the companion website that I use the Grazr widget for RSS feeds.

Leave a Reply

