some good news for Jørn Lier Horst

The past few days haven’t been good ones in my country, but I’m cheered to learn about something to celebrate.

Jørn Lier Horst’s THE HUNTING DOGS is the winner of The Martin Beck Award 2014 given by the Swedish Crime Writers’ Academy (Svenska Deckarakademin) for the best crime novel in translation. It is one of the most prestigious international crime-writing awards. The Jury says; “An original, thrilling novel about a policeman’s struggle on the edge between disaster and restoration of justice.

I first heard about this series from Maxine Clarke, who really loved the series. I’m pleased it’s finding an appreciative Swedish audience. It would be lovely if it were widely available in the U.S. Meanwhile kudos to Sandstone Press and a tip of the hat to Barry Forshaw and Lucy Ramsey for keeping me in the loop.

4 thoughts on “some good news for Jørn Lier Horst

  1. In what order should Jorn Lier Horst’s books be read in English? I know that only a handful have been translated so far so with this being the case, what is the optimal order of the English translations?

    Thanks!

    • I’m afraid I’ve only read one so I’m not certain. So far as I know, the first five in the series have never been translated and the English-language translations have been in order from volume six onward. The Hunting Dogs seems to be something of a break-out book, to go by the awards it has racked up.

Leave a Reply

